Chocolate Revel Bar

August 22, 2009 at 6:59 pm 3 comments

Revel Bars

I tried this out at my husband’s request.  My husband is not a sweets person, not a dessert person and not a chocolate person , which is a shame as I am starting to do quite a bit of baking.  I find it a bit of a challenge then to find something to bake that he would love as well.

I was in the office a few weeks ago and I got this email from him containing a link to a revel bar recipe with a note asking me to bake this for him.  Apparently, he has fond memories of the Chocolate Revel Bar.  He had tried it when he was in his teens and used to order these bars from his schoolmate in college.  Unfortunately, she migrated to the US and that was the end of his Revel Bar days.  Years later, he found out that these bars were the specialty of one of the northern regions in our country and he used to get some everytime he travelled to that region for work reasons.  Of course the bars were not fudgy anymore and were actually quite dry as he could not buy them fresh.  Come to think of it, I remembered that he brought me a canister full of these bars years ago when we were still dating.

Revel Bar UncutI would say that the chocolate revel bar can actually be called a chocolate oatmeal bar.  It is fudgy and very rich.  You would like to think of it as healthy (oatmeal?  dark chocolate?), but then again, maybe not.  I brought some to work and got a lot of requests that I made a 2nd batch last weekend.  I had to cut it into smaller pieces though (half of the original size) which suits me better.  I got a special request from my officemate today — if I could make a batch for her for her upcoming birthday.  If it is really her birthday, why not?  …Apologies for the skepticism, it’s not the first time someone told me it was her birthday to get a cake out of me.

Going back to my husband, I was dreading (a bit) his comparison of my revel bar against his memory as a lot of times memories can be unbeatable (i.e. watching a 90’s movie and realizing that in your memory the movie was so much better than it actually is).  And he did challenge me to make my revel bar better than his memory of it.  I was so relieved that he thought it was!!  I can now add this to the short list of baked goodies my husband likes which are Dutch Apple Pie, NY or Blueberry Cheesecake, Sans Rival and Mascarpone Filled Buttermilk Cake.

Entry filed under: Baking, Chocolate. Tags: , , .

Oreo Cupcakes Filling Cupcakes and Decorating with Ganache

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Themyscira  |  September 1, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I like my CRB, too! Yummy!

    Reply
  • 2. farrah  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    it looks so testy…. can you give us the recipe plz

    Reply
    • 3. lqosial  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm

      Hey, Farah! Still experimenting with the recipe at the moment… Will post when I’ve finalized!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets


