Strawberry Pavlova

October 17, 2009 at 12:49 pm 1 comment

I was at a party three years ago (I didn’t bake then) and tasted this wonderful strawberry pavlova that an Australian couple brought.  At that time, never in my mind did I imagine that I could end up making the dessert myself.  Never say never!

The pavlova I made is quite different from the traditional pavlova in the sense that (1) it is layered and bigger than usual (2) I used baking pans to make the meringue (3) I also used brown sugar in making the meringue.  Nowadays you can buy the meringue for the pavlova from the supermarket so I thought I’d create something different from what is normally store bought.  I found the recipe in the internet and just went ahead and tried it.

Quick Bits:  The Pavlova

The pavlova is a meringue based dessert named in honor of the Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova.  Depending on who you ask, it is supposed to have originated from either Australia or New Zealand when the ballerina visited those countries in the 1920s.

Entry filed under: Baking, Dessert, Fruits. Tags: , .

Tiered Wedding Cake with Two-Toned Fondant Roses Baby Shower Teddy Bear

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets


