Layered Chocolate Almond Cake with Fondant Letters

October 26, 2009 at 8:39 pm 2 comments

Chocolate?  Good!!  Almonds?  Good!!  So why not put them together in a single cake?

This is my “go to” cake (although not in multiple layers).  When I don’t have much time to put together a cake, I usually end up doing this one.  I started covering the cake with almonds during my early attempts at baking and decorating.  I was not happy with the way I frosted my chocolate cake and in desperation, tried to find whatever I could in the pantry for something to hide my mediocre frosting skills.  I found some almonds in the pantry… and, voila!  My go-to cake was born.

As it so happens, this  is the favorite cake of one of the most charming ladies I have the pleasure of working with and her name is — you guessed it right, Suha!  We were planning a surprise party for her in the office and with the number of invitees coming, I realised that one layer was not enough.  I could have gone with making several single layer cakes but I also wanted to do fondant letters which would look good on a tall cake (either a single layer 4-inch high cake or a tiered cake).  I decided to go with a tiered cake.

The cake is your normal chocolate cake, covered in Nigella Lawson’s chocolate frosting and decorated with sliced almonds.  I added buttercream bead borders in ivory around the edges for a finished look.

The letters are made of fondant (with Gum-Tex) with a sprinkling of pearlised sugars attached by brushing the face of the letters with piping gel.

Entry filed under: Baking, Cake Decorating, Cakes, Chocolate. Tags: , , , , , , .

Baby Shower Teddy Bear Fairy (Tinkerbell) Cake and Cupcakes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Parris  |  January 4, 2010 at 4:15 am

    hi, pretty cakes, can you tell me how thick the fondant for the letters is and how you attached them.
    thanks

    Reply
    • 2. lqosial  |  January 4, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      Hi, Donna! I rolled to 1/8 of an inch before cutting the letters. I attached it using fondant as well. I placed lollipop sticks at the back of the letters and attached fondant strips over the sticks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets


