Thomas The Tank Engine 3D Cake

February 28, 2010 at 11:40 pm Leave a comment

Thomas was a tank engine who lived at a Big Station. He had six small wheels, a short stumpy funnel, a short stumpy boiler and a short stumpy dome.  He was a fussy little engine, always pulling coaches about. […] He was a cheeky little engine, too. — from the story “Thomas & Gordon”.

Thomas the Tank Engine was a specific request of our friend’s son who was turning 3 last January.  As a famous children’s character, I wanted to make a Thomas cake with a difference and thought of making a 3D cake.  My biggest worry was making a cake that the kids at the party would not recognize.  Can you imagine slaving over a cake for hours and when you get to the party the kids ask “Who is That?”.  Just the thought of it gives me shivers…

Thankfully, one of my friends gave me the link to a “Tank Engine Cake Tutorial” and lent me her son’s Thomas the Tank Engine toy.  The tutorial was my reference in making the cake, although I had to make a few modifications either to make a closer copy of the toy I had or adhere to my personal preference or style of decorating.

The kids at the party had a blast and thankfully the kids recognized the cake as Thomas as soon as I entered the party venue (right before they started poking the cake with their tiny little fingers!!).

Entry filed under: Baking, Cake Decorating, Cakes. Tags: , , , .

Raspberry Trifle with White Chocolate and Almonds Chocolate Vermicelli Sprinkles (Chocolate Jimmies)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets


